Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Strawberry Fields Forever

This morning started out gloriously sunny, which was a welcome reprieve from the dreary rainyness of yesterday.  Michael and I met up with Kelly and Sophie at the Hillcrest Farmer’s Market.  Vendors set up tents and sell everything from fruits and veggies, to flowers and granola, even soap and pastries.  The produce is always so fresh and beautiful!  The Farmer’s Market always has that wonderful smell of fresh foods that have been grown and harvested precisely at the peak of ripeness.  The perfection of flavor simply cannot be matched by grocery store produce.  Unfortunately you pay a much higher premium for such lovely products.  Our budget definitely does not accommodate a weekly trip, but it makes for a nice treat on the occasional Sunday.   The vendors always offer plates of fresh cut samples to lure the customers into their tents.  Today was all about the strawberries for us!  Michael found these beautiful plump fragrant bright red strawberries that were picked just this morning!

img_13823

We brought them home, and I decided that we just HAD to have strawberry shortcake tonight!  So I decided that I should make pound cake myself, which I’ve never attempted before.  I was up for the challenge!  I found this recipe on line and got to baking!  Holy Cholesterol, Batman!  I had no idea how much butter and eggs were involved in pound cake!  I made a few minor alterations to the pound cake, like only using 6 eggs instead of the 8 that it calls for, and adding a bit of lemon zest for an extra pop of flavor.  Well, after 90 minutes and much concern that the bottom was getting too brown, while the inside was still raw, my pound cake came out wonderfully moist and delicately lemony.  Michael is sitting across from me right now eating a piece and making obscene noises and doing a little dance . . . he might like it ;).  I can’t wait to try it with strawberries and whipped cream for dessert tonight!!

img_13831

Leave a Reply

