Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



The Energizer Bunny

Over the past several months, I have been experiencing some, ahem, gastro intestinal funkiness (no need to elaborate).  I have always had some problems with it, but things have been getting worse lately.  I have spoken to my doctor about my issues, and he thinks that I might be lactose intolerant.  On his advice, I have been eating dairy free for the past week and will continue the experiment for a full month.  I have decided that there is clearly some kind of issue that I need to figure out.  I am hoping and praying that dairy isn’t the culprit (no more ice cream, milk, or cheese?! Sob!) but I want to at least give it a shot.  I am also cutting out artificial sweetener because I have done some research and discovered that it’s really not the best for our bodies.  I think that consuming just a little of the real stuff is much better than trying to fool my body with chemicals.  I am also trying to really limit the amount of processed foods that I eat.  I’m really trying to get back to basics.  I have always eaten a TON of fruit, so I’m eating a lot more veggies, beans, nuts, fish, etc.  I am trying to limit the amount of meat I eat too.  Don’t worry, I am NOT turning vegetarian on you, I really love steak way too much 🙂  I’m just trying to go meat free a few days a week. 

I have to say, I am feeling so much better.  My stomach is pretty happy, my skin is clear sans medication, and I don’t have any canker sores . . . yet.  I’m not saying that this is a cure all solution, but I am feeling amazing right now.  And the best part is that I have sooooo much more energy!  I wake up well before my alarm clock, don’t get tired at the end of the workday, and I have been foregoing my afternoon nap.  And I do this all of this without the help of coffee, which I used to rely on!  I’m not giving up caffeine intentionally, but who wants coffee without milk?  Yuck!  As much as I LOVE all things dairy, it will be worth the sacrifice to me in order to feel this good all of the time.  Now if only they could develop a better tasting soy milk . . .

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. First Restaurant Review: Sushi Deli 1 « Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo pingbacked on 8 years, 6 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

