Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Day One

It’s been awhile since my last race.  My runs in the park have gotten a little stale without the added incentive of working towards a goal.  I love 5Ks, but I find that thy are just not as challenging and thrilling as they once were.  My training runs are typically longer than a 5K each day.  I can always run them to improve my time, but I’ve decided that it’s time to take on a new challenge.  So I have signed up for the America’s Finest City Half Marathon on August 16!  I am so excited!  To date, my longest race is a 10K, so this is uncharted territory for me.  I found a great half marathon training program on http://www.runnersworld.com, which I will be following to prepare myself for the race.  It’s actually based on the training schedule of American running hero and second place finisher in this year’s Boston Marathon, Ryan Hall!   Who better to model my running after?

Tonight was day one of my training.  I went down to the Balboa Stadium, which is just a few miles away from our apartment.  I ran 6 x 800 meters at about a 8 minute mile pace.  800 meters is half a mile, or twice around a standard track.  I did 6 reps with about a minute break in between to stretch, get some water, and catch my breath.  I haven’t run on a track since high school, and it brought back so many memories!  I had a great time, and was feeling especially encouraged by my very own red headed cheerleader!  Thank you, husband 😉  I’m having a little trouble with shin splints, but I am running through them, doing lots of stretching, and icing them as I type this!

Leave a Reply

