Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Duty Calls

Yesterday’s Rock N Roll Marathon was sooo inspiring!  I was just as amazed to watch the elite athletes smoke the course as I was to watch the average joes struggle through.  It was incredible!  I will SOOO be running this next year.  We had so much fun passing out water and cheering people on, my voice is still a little hoarse 😉  One thing that struck me was just how grateful people were for the volunteers.  When I passed out water, many people thanked me as they took their cup.  Many of those who were too exhausted to verbally say thank you said it with their eyes.  I even had several people hollering to us as they passed, “Thank you for being here volunteers!”  Marathons really bring together a very diverse crowd.  There were people of all races and ages from all over the world.  This experience has given me a new source of enthusiasm for my own training, I am ready to take on the world!  I was so sore from my workout the day before the marathon and from standing for 6 hours while volunteering that I decided to switch the 10 mile run planned for Sunday with today’s rest day!  So, I’ll be running 10 miles today!!  Wow, I’m a little intimidated and nervous, I have never in my life run that far!  But I’m going to give it all I’ve got.

 . . . Right after jury duty.  That’s right, I have been summoned to jury duty this morning.  I’m not sure if combining Monday grumpiness with jury duty is going to make it better or worse.  I won’t really be able to work in a full capacity, so it might be kind of like a hiatus.  I’m really not quite sure what to expect, I’ve never been to jury duty before.  I know that I’m allowed to bring my laptop, but I imagine I probably can’t use my cell phone to make the necessary work related calls.  So, it might be a bit like an extension of my weekend.  It might even be an interesting insight into how our legal system works.  Although, after watching countless episodes of Law and Order, I consider myself to be somewhat of an expert 😉  One thing I’m sure of:  I’ll have no refrigerator to keep my lunch in, so it looks like I’ll be trying out a restaurant downtown for lunch.  I’ve already been scoping out yelp for cool places to eat, I’m thinking maybe Thai (when am I not thinking Thai? lol!).  Look for a restaurant review tonight!  Have you ever been on jury duty before?  What’s it like?  Any interesting stories?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Sarah says:

    I’m so glad you had a good experience volunteering! I always wonder if the volunteers like it or not. Trust me, we are REALLY REALLY thankful to you for standing out there all day. Unfortunately, I completely forgot to look for you at 24. 😦 Anyways, so happy you are gonna run next year, if you need a running buddy hit me up!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Sarah says:

    oh ps. I had to serve on a jury a couple years ago… it interesting watching both sides argue, however deciding the persons fate was sooo not. Good luck!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Hallie says:

    I know this is too late by now, but they actually do have a little fridge and microwave at the courthouse…who knew? When I did Jury Duty (didn’t get picked for a jury, so it was a big fat waste of time) I walked up to Horton Plaza, had lunch there and walked around the mall since they gave us TWO HOURS for lunch.

    I’m glad you had a good time volunteering! My experiece at the finish line made me not want to ever run a marathon, haha, but now I’m getting pumped at the idea of doing a 1/2. Good luck with your 10-miler, I’ve never run more than 4 miles so I have a long way to go!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

