Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Craziness!

Wow, this week has been insane!  Let me catch you up on the conclusion of last week first . . .

After hours of deliberation, we the jury had finally reached a decision on Friday afternoon:  Guilty on all counts.  I truely think that justice was served and hope that the defendant will learn from her mistakes.  Long story short, the defendant was working as a live in caregiver for a elderly woman from whom she was stealing.  Not cool!

I have to admit that day 1 of jury duty, I was like, “Get me out of here, I have things to do.”  We watched a video about former jurors and how amazing their experiences were, and I was thinking, “Right, whatever, this is so lame.”  By the end of my service, however, I knew exactly what these people meant.  I came out of this experience with a whole new appreciation for our legals system.  It was really interesting to watch it all first hand.  My case was a criminal case, so it definitely contributed to the courtroom drama (not as exciting as Law and Order, but I digress).  Deliberation is a really interesting process.  You take the unique personalities and perspectives of 12 total strangers and try to reach one decision.  It was tough!  But I was very impressed with the jury.  Everyone was very respectful of each other, giving everyone a chance to voice their opinions.  Each person brought something different to the table.  Everyone took the task very seriously and put a lot of careful thought into reaching a verdict.  I loved our jury and I would totally trust them if I were the one standing trial.  

Of all of the jurors, my favorite was juror number 3.  He was a well dressed, soft spoken older gentleman with such a friendly smile.  I was never sure what to say to him or how to strike up a conversation until the very last day, I’m so glad I did!  He had a coffee cup decorated with a picture of his family.  I asked him about it and he proudly told me about his grandchildren.  While we were chatting, we got on the subject of running and he told me that he used to be a runner until 2 years ago when he had to get his knees replaced.  He can’t run anymore, but he told me that he still dreams about running.  It made me feel so guilty for taking my ability to run for granted, for all of the days I have decided that I’m just too tired to run or that I didn’t feel like it.  It’s given me a different perspective on days when I’m just not feeling it. 

This week has been a complete whirlwind!  There were lots of fires waiting for me to put out Monday morning.  I leave, and everything falls apart 😉  It’s been so busy around here that the week has just flown by, I can’t believe that tomorrow is Friday!  Yay for the weekend!  Michael and I are planning on going to Little Italy on Saturday for the Farmer’s Market.  I love fresh fruits and veggies, yum!  Let’s see if I can stay on budget!

Since I last posted, I have run 2 separate 10 mile runs!  Woohoo!  I’m so excited!  My running has really improved!  I am going to be running the Coronado Low Tide Ride and Stride on June 28th, which is a 8.2 mile course.  It’s the longest race that I’ve ever run and I am so pumped!  I feel really prepared.  Today I am doing a tempo workout:  1 mile slow, 4 miles fast, and 1 mile slow for a total of 6 miles.  I might hit the gym for weights, we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

