Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Livin La Vida Lactose

Today’s lesson involves the importance of reading labels.  Recently I started making a morning Green Monster, which I have been loving!  Unfortunately they have not been loving me back.  Then I realized that while the protein powder I was using proclaimed itself to be lactose free, it was not dairy free.  Ugh, so frustrating!  Also, I have made the switch from milk chocolate to dark chocolate with the intention of being dairy free.  Wrong!  My beloved Dark Chocolate Dove Promises contain milk fat!  I feel like all of those promises were lies!  Manufacturers love to hide little surprises in their products.  I’m just glad that my allergy is relatively mild, so then when I do absentmindedly eat something containing dairy, I’m just uncomfortable.  My new mantra?  Always Read  The Label!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Hallie says:

    Good mantra!

    What protien powder do (did) you use? I just bought a no-name kind from Costco and I’m a little nervous about it for some reason 🙂 I mostly bought it for the boy though, because I’d buy some hippie brown rice pro powder for myself…but if I have to share, I have to be cheap!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago
    • * gadergirl says:

      Haha, I actually got my protein powder at Costco too! I think it’s called Whey Isolate. It tastes really good and doesn’t have that gritty texture that a lot of protein powders do. I’m sure it would be fine for anyone without a dairy allergy. I’m debating whether or not to get brown rice protein powder, but it’s just sooo expensive. I guess you get what you pay for!

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

