Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Adventures in Baking

I wanted to make banana bread last night, but I didn’t have enough Earth Balance.  So, I decided that it was time to get creative!  I have always loved to bake, but I typically find a recipe and stick to it.  I’ve been afraid to stray too far from the recipe, worried that the finished product won’t come out properly.  So, last night I borrowed from numerous recipes and a little of my own imagination to create a killer banana bread.  What was my secret ingredient?  Avocado!  I substituted the oil for avocado, since it is high in good natural fats.  I think I might have undercooked my banana bread a bit, I blame the inconsistency of my old apartment oven!  Here’s my recipe:

Avocado Banana Bread

4 overripe bananas

1 ripe avocado

2 eggs

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 2/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

generous sprinkle cinnamon

splash vanilla

Mix all ingredients together, transfer to loaf pan, bake at 350° until done.

Enjoy with steaming cup of peppermint tea.

 

Ok, so the last part is optional!  The Mad Scientist raved about this version (I’m always trying new recipes and variations on banana bread).  It turned out very moist and sweet.  I think the only alteration I might make would be to cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup.  I hope you enjoy!IMG_1509

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Debbie says:

    Hey there Gader Girl! Sounds yummy! Wish I could pop over for a slice of that and a cup of coffee! You’re a chip off the old block! I love you!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

