Gader Girl in Sandy Eggo



Track Star!

Yesterday’s track workout was awesome!  I ran 8×800 (800 meters is half a mile, or 2 laps around a standard track) with rests in between.  I am still working through the end of my cold, and that was really obvious yesterday.  I was seriously hacking up a lung, I think my lung capacity is currently around 70%.  I really gave that workout my all, I didn’t think I was going to make it at circuit 6.  But I managed to squeeze out 2 more & even did an 800 cool down.  One of the things I love about track workouts is the people.  While people running in the park might just be your average casual runners, people who run at the track are typically more hardcore!  I’m embarrassed to admit this, but yesterday a guy in his 60’s kicked my butt at the track.  I mean, he was flying, it was insane!  So inspiring!

I’m trying everything to build my endurance back upbefore Sunday’s race.  I’m really anxious about the race.  I’ve never run more than 6.2 miles in a race before, and Sunday’s race is 8.2 miles.  I was so much more confident about my ability to run it before I got sick.  Now, I feel like it’s going to be a major challenge.  I know that it’s nothing I can’t handle, but I will have to be a little less ambitious about my time!  Without Limits, the movie about ’70’s running superstar, Steve Prefontaine is supposed to arrive tomorrow from Netflix.  I want to watch it Saturday night for a little pre-race boost 🙂

Leave a Reply

